Jolie Lombardo – YAGP

International ballet competitions the likes of Youth America Grand Prix attract thousands of aspiring artists every year. Most of the participants aim to win. After all, it’s a competition, not a gala. But this should not be the goal.

This year one young girl traveled all the way from the United States to Paris just for the workshops at the Paris Opera Ballet School. On her own, without even being a contestant at the Parisian round. For she knows perfectly, that the goal of the competitions in the ballet world is to show yourself, show your work, show your style. To gain that experience and to connect with the teachers. For medals do not make you a great dancer. Your determination does.

Jolie Lombardo is 14 years old and currently dancing at the Orlando Ballet School under the direction of Miles Burger. Her dream has always been to study ballet in Europe. In the past, she became the first recipient of the Shelley King award, which allowed her to participate in all YAGP events. Yet she never used it. Until there was a chance to go to Paris for the masterclasses in the Paris Opera school of ballet.

Paris is one of those cities that you can’t get enough of. And for Jolie, it was her first time here. Anyone else in this situation would naturally spend first few days drowning themselves in the ambiance of the City of Light. Anyone but Jolie. She did not come here to see the Eifel tower, she came here to see the artistic directors of the best ballet school in Europe. The tower can wait. In fact, she only decided to visit the central part of the city during her last day. This is what distinguishes the people in ballet. Even at the age of 14, they have their priorities straight and they are willing to sacrifice everything for their passion. Even the Eiffel Tower.

As I’ve mentioned, during the YAGP Paris, Paris Opera School hosts masterclasses for the participants of the competition. At these masterclasses, students are being observed by artistic directors and teachers of the ballet schools all over Europe to headhunt potential students. They examine each students’ current abilities and evaluate what they believe their future potential could be. If they are interested in you, they will speak with YAGP officials, and ask them about your particular situation. If you have indicated to them that you are interested, they might give you an offer to join their school.

Jolie managed to impress the teachers so well that by the end of it, despite not participating in the actual competition, she received several invitations. When asked about where exactly was she invited, she decided to keep that in secret. She has always felt that the scholarships she receives should remain private for fear that by not taking advantage of one over another, it might negatively affect what other people think of the school that was not chosen. Someone might think that because she didn’t choose one particular school, this school is in some way bad. That is why Jolie tries not to publicize the opportunities she receives.

Shelley King award played another major role in the life of Jolie by bringing her together with Larissa Saveliev – founder and artistic director of the YAGP. Larissa became her personal mentor and such a great mentor in fact, that Jolie trusts her with all the major decisions, including the choice of the school.

But as Jolie noted, and seeing it first hand, Larissa doesn’t serve as mentor exclusively to Jolie. She’s caring and helps all the participants. If the competition were a family, Larissa would be the mother. And in fact, the atmosphere of a family is what YAGP is like. You don’t feel like you are on the world’s biggest competitions, there is no pressure, it feels like you are at the family event, where everyone knows each other and cares about one another.

I’ve heard many people comparing YAGP to the Olympics. And indeed, there are some similarities, but overall it’s nothing like that. The point of competitions in ballet is not to, as Christopher Powney might put it, to impress judges by you tricks in this singular moment. No, the point is to show your work, your style, your dedication to your art, where art is not only technique or musicality, but the combination of everything.

Schools are not looking for the new Sergei Polunin during these competitions. They are looking for potential students, that will fit them not only skill wise but style-wise, personality wise. And then they’ll do their best to make you next Polunin. So don’t go there with the solemn goal to win by spinning more times than you can count. Go there to find the school that fits you.

As for Jolie, she’s back in the US getting ready for the competition. But because of prioritizing the right things, because of understanding the true point of the competitions, it doesn’t really matter how the competition goes. She has already won.

18.01.18

Бэкстейдж

Джоли Ломбардо – YAGP

Крупнейшие международные балетные конкурсы, как Youth America Grand Prix, привлекают тысячи артистов каждый год. Большая часть этих артистов стремится получить первый приз – еще бы, ведь это конкурс, а не гала. Но это не совсем верно.

В этом году одна начинающая балерина прилетела в Париж из США. Одна, при том что даже не являлась участницей парижского этапа конкурса, все ради посещения мастер-классов в Школе балета Парижской оперы. Потому что она прекрасно понимает, что основная цель на балетных конкурсах – показать себя, свою работу, стиль, получить опыт выступления на сцене и встретиться с преподавателями. Потому что медали не сделают из тебя хорошего артиста балета. Твое упорство сделает.

Джоли Ломбардо 14 лет. Она всегда мечтала обучаться балету в Европе. В прошлом, она получила первый приз Шелли Кинг, который сыграл очень важную роль в ее жизни – он позволил ей принимать участие во всех мероприятиях Youth America Grand Prix. Но она этим никогда не пользовалась, пока не появилась возможность увидеть Францию.

Париж – это один из тех городов, в который всегда хочется поехать. А для Джоли это было еще и первое в ее жизни знакомство с ним. Любой другой в такой ситуации сразу же побежал бы купаться в атмосфере города света, но не Джоли. Ведь она приехала сюда не любоваться Эйфелевой башней. Она приехала встретиться с креативными директорами лучших балетных школ Европы. Башня подождет. Более того, сам Париж она решила посетить только в последний день мастерк-лассов. На мой взгляд, это прекрасно демонстрирует характер балетных. Даже в 14 лет они способны правильно расставлять приоритеты и жертвовать всем ради своего искусства. Даже Эйфелевой башней.

Как я уже сказал, во время Парижского этапа YAGP Школа балета Парижской оперы проводит мастер-классы для всех участников конкурса. На этих мастер-классах на конкурсантов смотрят креативные директора и преподаватели балетных школ со всей Европы, чтобы выявить потенциальных студентов. Они оценивают потенциал и нынешние данные каждого конкурсанта. Если кто-то станет им интересен, организаторы конкурса сообщат им о его пожеланиях и целях и, если все совпало, тебе сделают предложение присоединиться к школе.

Джоли удалось настолько впечатлить преподавателей, что в конце концов она получила сразу несколько приглашений. Куда именно – говорить она отказалась. Ей всегда казалось, что стипендии и приглашения, которые она получает, должны остаться в секрете. Ведь кто-то может подумать, что если она отказалась от какой-то определенной школы, эта школа не очень-то и хороша. И чтобы никого не обидеть, она никому, кроме самых близких людей, ни о чем не рассказывает.

Награда Шелли Кинг сыграла еще одну важнейшую роль в жизни Джоли – она свела ее с Ларисой Савельевой, основателем и креативным директором YAGP, которая стала ее личным ментором, и настолько хорошим, что Джоли доверяет ей во всем, даже в выборе школы.

Но, как сказала Джоли, и как мне удалось увидеть лично, Лариса поддерживает не только Джоли, а вообще всех участников. Если бы конкурс был семьей, Лариса была бы главой семейства. И на самом деле, атмосфера YAGP сильно напоминает атмосферу семьи. Не чувствуется того давления крупнейших конкурсов, не чувствуется напряжения. Скорее ты ощущаешь себя как на семейном мероприятии, где все друг друга знают и поддерживают, радуются и сострадают.

Многие сравнивают YAGP с Олимпийскими играми. Действительно, какое-то небольшое сходство тут есть. Ведь цель конкурсов в балете это не, как Кристофер Пауни мог бы выразиться, впечатлить судей своими трюками, которые превосходны в этот отдельно взятый момент. Нет, цель балетных конкурсов в том, чтобы показать свою работу, свой стиль, свою преданность искусству танца, где искусство – это не только техника или музыкальность, а комбинация всего.

Школы не ищут себе нового Сергея Полунина на этих конкурсах. Они ищут потенциал, который они превратят в превосходного танцора, если он подходит им своим стилем, личностью. Поэтому, идя на конкурс, не стоит ставить перед собой цель сделать максимально-возможное количество оборотов или прыжков. Стоит пытаться найти подходящую тебе школу, честно представляя себя судьям.

Что касается Джоли, сейчас она в США готовится к своему этапу конкурса. Но из-за правильно поставленных приоритетов и понимания сути конкурса, уже не особо важно, какое место она в итоге займет. Она уже победила.