10.05.18

Off the Stage

Julian Watsoon

Today we are introducing the dancer - Julian Watson. Julian is one of whose who is boundlessly faithful to his dream. He came to Ballet at the age of 17 and succeeded to learn the classic dance. Now he is creating as a choreographer. This story became an inspiration for La Personne photographer Karina Zhitkova, who presents together with Julian the new #OfftheStage project issue.

Julian Watsoon

I began dancing quite late, first in international competitive Latin ballroom with my partner Irena, at the age of 16.

And then at the age of 17, I discovered ballet which I did not know existed, in a small ballet school in my hometown of Philadelphia. After training there for 2 years I moved to NYC and circulated around through different ballet programs and coaches. I have been quite fortunate, receiving scholarships for full tuition to most of the institutions, and have been able to attend summer courses at Bolshoi Ballet Academy, Ellison Ballet School, Royal Danish Ballet – Danish Ballet Masters, Lines Ballet Workshop, Dresden International Ballet Summer Course, Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre, among numerous others.

My most former coach in NYC was Valentina Kozlova, from the Bolshoi Theatre herself. She is a very expressive and intellectual woman, and she has given me so many opportunities and experiences. She is quite charming, and a passionate figure in the art world.

I have spent more of my present moments trying to explore more contemporary movement, free lancing and choreographing. I love the stage. It is such a sacred place. Of silence, of music, of thought and stillness; a blank canvas that I am trying to find a home to break molds and boundaries of body types, and image and skin colour.

There are so many inspirational places to pull ideas from, in daily life that we neglect. From literature, architecture, music, and I hope to create stories and moments that the audience can experience on such a humane and personal level.

I believe this is where art should be directed.

 

 

 

Author Karina Zhitkova

10.05.18

Off the Stage

Джулиан Уотсон

Сегодня мы знакомим вас с танцовщиком Джулианом Уотсоном. Джулиан один из тех людей, которые безмерно преданы своей мечте, попав в балет в 17 лет, он сумел обучиться классическому танцу и сейчас пробует себя как хореограф. Эта история вдохновила фотографа La Personne Карину Житкову, которая вместе с Джулианом представляет новый выпуск специального проекта #OfftheStage.

Джулиан Уотсон

Танцевать я начал достаточно поздно – латинские бальные танцы. С партнершей Иреной мы участвовали в международных соревнованиях, мне тогда было 16 лет.

 

В 17 лет я открыл для себя балет – это была маленькая балетная школа в родном городе в Филадельфии. Проучившись там два года, я переехал в Нью-Йорк, где посещал различные программы и занимался с педагогами. Я оказался достаточно везучим, у меня получалось заниматься по стипендии практически на всех тренинг-программах. Я смог посетить летние курсы МГАХ, Балетной Школы Эллисон, мастер-классы Датского Королевского Балета, творческую мастерскую Балета Лайнз, летние курсы Дрезденского балета и Питтсбургского театра балета и многие другие.

Моим главным педагогом в Нью-Йорке была Валентина Козлова, которая танцевала в Большом театре. Это невероятно умная женщина, обладающая глубокой выразительностью, она дала мне много опыта и открыла много возможностей. Она очаровательна, глубоко эмоциональна и занимает особое место в мире искусства.

В настоящее время я больше сконцентрирован на современном танце, работаю на фриланс основе и пробую себя как хореограф. Из тишины и музыки, из мысли и неподвижности всегда что-то рождается, я с чистого листа пытаюсь найти то, что может сломать условности и расширить границы понимания человеческого тела – разных образов, разных оттенков кожи.

Вокруг так много источников, откуда можно черпать вдохновение – из повседневной жизни, которую мы частенько отрицаем. Из литературы, архитектуры, музыки… И я надеюсь создать истории и моменты, которые публика сможет воспринять на человеческом и личностном уровне.

 

Я верю, что искусство должно двигаться в этом направлении.

 

 

 

Автор проекта Карина Житкова